The Ogham Stones of Ardmore

Ed Mooney Photography

Ardmore Ogham Stones (1) (640x426)Within the ruins of the old monastic settlement of Ardmore in Waterford, founded by St. Declan in the 5th century, there are a number of interesting structures. My personal favourites where the two ogham stones I found sitting inside the ruins of the cathedral. We were heading back from a family break in nearby Youghal, and I was disappointed that I did not get to shoot as much as I had wanted too whilst I was there. So despite the pouring rain, when we passed through Ardmore, I was adamant that I would not go any further without stopping off to explore this fine monastic settlement. With the rain pouring down, the rest of the family stayed put in the car, whilst I braved the elements armed only with the smallest little red umbrella you could imaging. It was so small, that it barely covered my camera. But I…

View original post 462 more words

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

